Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The den of forever frost
Scroll down the list in the 'Find a Copy' section to see all your options. Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons.
Map It
Find a Copy

Booklist Reviews

Bear cub siblings Jytte and Stellan, and their friend Third, continue their perilous journey to find their father and the Den of Forever Frost. Aided by unlikely animals and insects, they traverse harsh terrain, slide through ice tunnels, and evade menacing, venomous critters. A surprise encounter with Froya, Third's sister, causes him to question her trustworthiness. Meanwhile, their mother, Svenna, longs for her cubs as she slaves for the Mystress of the Chimes, though she's found a mission in helping the gillygaskins (ghost cubs mutilated by the Ice Clock). When her cubs finally come face-to-face with their father, Svern, they are distraught. How can this old, defeated bear help them maneuver the Den of Forever Frost and find the key to the Ice Clock? In this second of the Bears of the Ice series, Lasky's brilliant imagery of the fantasy ice world and her believably strong, determined bears won't disappoint readers. The final paragraph brings sighs and silence as the bears contemplate the completion of their quest in the series' next book. Grades 3-6. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Author Biography

Kathryn Lasky is the Newbery Honor-winning author of over 100 books for children and young adults. Her beloved Guardians of Ga'Hoole fantasy series has more than seven million copies in print, and she is the author of the Daughters of the Sea series and the Wolves of the Beyond series, as well as A Time for Courage and other Dear America titles. Kathryn has also written a number of critically acclaimed historical fiction titles, such as Beyond the Burning Time and True North. She lives with her husband in Cambridge, Massachusetts.
- (Scholastic)


Book 2 of the Bears of the Ice series by bestselling author Kathryn Lasky.
- (Scholastic)

Cubs Stellan and Jytte survived their treacherous trek across the Nunquivik, but their quest to rescue their mother has only begun. Svenna is imprisoned at the sinister Ice Clock-the headquarters of the Grand Patek whose dangerous influence is spreading throughout the bear kingdom.

Only one bear has ever stood up to the Grand Patek-Svern, the cubs' father, a famous warrior who's been in exile for years. And so, along with their friend Third, the cubs set out to find Svern in the legendary Den of Forever Frost-a place some bears claim never existed at all.
But time is running out. The Grand Patek has a secret weapon at his disposal-one with the power to destroy everything the creatures of Ga'Hoole hold dear.

In this second book in the Bears of the Ice series, bestselling author Kathryn Lasky lures readers deeper into a vividly-imagined fantasy world full of magic, adventure . . . and animal heroes unlike any other.
- (Scholastic)

Large Cover Image
Displaying 1 of 1